Joslyn Law Firm
10 W 2nd
Dayton, OH 45402
What to look for in a lawyer if you are arrested for the first time
DAYTON, Ohio – Most Ohio residents follow the letter of the law. They don’t think about getting arrested when they step outside to go to work and most likely don’t have a criminal defense
attorney on speed dial waiting to help them out when things go awry.
In fact, many Ohio residents probably don’t even know a defense attorney.
That works fine most days, but if that time comes and they are facing a first-time arrest, they will need someone to navigate the system for them – and fast.
is founder and managing attorney at Joslyn Law Firm
in Dayton. An award-winning criminal and defense attorney, he and his team of skilled attorneys handle hundreds of criminal cases each year.
“Having an experienced defense lawyer at your side as early in the process as possible can help you deal with the shock and the stress while the attorney protects your rights and fights for favorable outcomes,” he said.
According to Joslyn, here’s what people arrested for the first time should ask when searching for a defense attorney:
- Do they know how to leverage a first-time status as a mitigating factor?
- Are they are to respond quickly to the initial call and visit you within hours?
- Are they willing to walk you through the legal process with patience and without judgement?
- Do they offer a free consultation?
- Are they familiar with your charges?
Most first-time arrests in Dayton are for offenses like petty theft, shoplifting
, reckless driving, OVI/DUI charges
and major traffic violations
, he said. Even if you are a first-time offender, these charges come with serious penalties and a defense strategy should not be taken lightly.
Misdemeanors are a category of offenses less serious than felony charges. They are ranked from 1-5, with five being the less severe infractions. A fifth-degree misdemeanor, for example, may net you a $150 fine and then you’re free to go home. A first -degree misdemeanor, however, can cost you six months in jail and a $1,000 fine regardless if you are a first-time offender or not.
Felonies include certain drug crimes
, vehicular manslaughter, rape and robbery. They are also designated on a scale of 1-5, but even a fifth-degree charge can get you three to 10 years in prison and a $25,000 fine.
“An experienced criminal defense lawyer
can fight to protect your rights and for a favorable outcome. Your attorney will argue your status as a first-time offender is a mitigating factor, or that it qualifies you for certain pretrial diversion programs,” said Joslyn.
If you are a first time offender in need of an experienced defense attorney from offenses related to drug crimes, OVI/DUI offenses or probation violations
, call Joslyn Law Firm, at (937) 356-3969 or visit us online at Daytonohlawyer.com